Do No Harm

do-no-harm-r_20l2Looking for the space

where being me won’t harm anyone else.

Does it exist?

Will I ever find it?

Where are the sign posts, the clues?

Am I allowed a compass or map?

In this high-tech, Reality TV world, can I get a lifeline?

Or will I be voted off the journey?

Is there rapid rail

Or must I travel on foot?

Are my feet bare?

Is the road rough,

With gravel, glass, & muck?

Am I alone, partnered, competing?

How much pain must I and others endure

Before I/we get there?

Is there room for all of us

Or just a select few?

Is it smooth sailing, magnificent seascapes,

Wise, witty, wicked wing women

Wearing sun- & breeze-kissed faces?

As Jill Scott would say:

84 degrees, melody?

Room for all who want to come

And are willing to do what it takes to get there?

Maybe it’s my/our choice, smooth or rugged,

Solo or en masse,

Really a bit of both, along a continuum,

The path to that special place.

Our experience of pain or pleasure

Determined by our choice

To don rose-colored or smokey gray glasses.

To see intermediate stops and a final destination

where I/We

Rest easy

Smell the roses

Have some tea

Feel the unconditional love of GOD,

The god within me/we,

GOD all around me/we,

GOD that is ME/WE!

4 Comments

  1. zarahrose said,

    February 14, 2013 at 8:08 pm

    Because you are a lover of many and have so much love inside.. you write words I feel so close to.. and love so many that make this poem so true!!

  2. zarahrose said,

    February 14, 2013 at 8:14 pm

    Reblogged this on The Magical Mindmouth of Ms. Zarah Rose and commented:
    I relate to these words of my sistah, Jewels!!!

  3. Happybutterfly said,

    February 28, 2014 at 4:43 am

    Beautifully written

    • bejewels said,

      August 2, 2014 at 9:04 am

      Thx, lovely!


Leave a Reply

