Do No Harm 2

dnhlogo-do-no-harmBeing ME…

What does that mean?

I sometimes catch myself

Unconsciously thinking of me

In static terms,

As if ME is who I’ve always been,

Or whom I’ve become

After that last hurtful scene,

The one that had me

Put one more brick

In that wall that’s suppose to

Protect ME from IT/THEM,

That thing/those others

Out to get me.

But what if I’m like water

Subtle but strong

Flexible but true,

Live-giving, and fatal,

Depending on my mood?

Then no wall can forever

Protect or hold me.

Boundless me.

And maybe, just maybe,

Them being out to get me

Is a figment of my imagination,

A FEARful hallucintation,

False Evidence Appearing Real,

Fully Fooling me.

They don’t mean no harm!

Or if that’s how they feel,

It’s only a defense spiel,

With secret code, disarmed.

So who AM I, me?

Am I the main attraction

Or background scenery?

The quiet calm

Or bold, brassy melody?

Point is, I/me certainly

Is NOT static.

Au contraire,

I can be quite erratic,

Unpredictable, whimsical,

Invisible or blindingly bright,

In your face or just plain outta sight.

Or some middle ground,

Not so easily found,

For now…

9 Comments

  1. shadun said,

    September 20, 2011 at 2:52 am

    I read words of, “I AM…”

    I hear a voice proclaiming, “I CAN be…”

    But, in this world

    Who is listening?

    Does the ultimate question, “WHAT am I…truly?”

    even matter?

    • bejewels said,

      February 12, 2012 at 10:46 pm

      I don’t think I’d realized you’d left this comment until now. Thanks for reviewing, Shall we discuss?

  2. zarahrose said,

    February 14, 2013 at 8:21 pm

    Thank you.. again.. I hear so many questions of self…and so many answers within this piece. What I know is that not everyone is supposed to be living that middle ground.. some of us are supposed to be dancing on the edge.. cus it is sooo pretty there and the wind is blowing and the sun is on our cheeks and we are … TRULY LIVING WELL!!!

    • bejewels said,

      February 28, 2014 at 5:58 am

      Edge-dwellers, bold, raven beauties, by choice! She’d our chains & dance the tight-rope, then touch ground for some calm solace…

  3. Happybutterfly said,

    February 28, 2014 at 5:00 am

    Dancing on the edge, yes, this is a great place to strive for, at least most of the time.

  4. bejewels said,

    February 28, 2014 at 6:00 am

    Correction & updated by me not iPad mini: Edge-dwellers, bold, raven/dove beauties, by choice! Shed our chains & dance the tight-rope, then touch ground for some calm solace & low, light equilibrium…


Leave a Reply

