‘Neocon’ Sarah Palin: You Go, Girl! Gone Wild

Ok, so I’ve been oh-so-fascinated by the Republicans’ latest & most brilliant diversion: Sarah Palin as Johnny Mac’s (I heard Whoopi bestow this nickname on him on The View) running mate. In 2004, it was gay marriage that threw the country off-track, contributed to Bush’s re-election and resulted in the worst economy Greenspan has ever seen (www.huffingtonpost.com/2008/09/14/greenspan-this-is-the-wor_n_126274.html). I was willing to give the GOP props for at least being a bit more positive and uplifting with this particular distraction: a young, attractive, articulate woman, though a ‘neocon,’ leaning even further right than the top of the ticket. At least we’re witnessing another woman making history, and that’s a lot better in my book than fear-mongering by preventing gay couples from making a legal matrimonial commitment to each other.

I’ve spoken to fellow political junkies about the media’s inability to vet ‘Phenom’ Sarah, mostly stifled by the tight-lipped/scripted McCain campaign. Since I see her positioning as a Republican diversionary tactic, the point is moot. From her Pro Life, to Pro Gun to military action before diplomacy stances, I respectfully & vehemently disagree with her on issues, not withstanding her feisty attitude and perky personality. She could be the proverbial 2nd coming of Christ and I wouldn’t consider voting for her.

To be fair, I was initially willing to give Sarah the benefit of the doubt, and assume that she could run an administration; even in this scenario, I’m sure I wouldn’t like the results because they’re Bush-esque, only worse. I’d suggested that to better understand her ability to administer, I’d need to know how she’d run the city of Wasilla & state of Alaska.
Well, I ran across some articles (http://topics.nytimes.com/top/reference/timestopics/people/p/sarah_palin/index.html?scp=1-spot&sq=palin&st=cse) posted on the New York Times website that have caused me to NOT give Sarah Palin the benefit of the doubt anymore. Specifically, one (http://www.nytimes.com/2008/09/14/us/politics/14palin.html?_r=1&oref=slogin) characterizing her administrations as having arguably misplaced loyalty shrouded in secrecy. Hmmmm, this sounds more & more Bush-like by the minute, even more so than McCain himself. Why, Arianna Huffington comically refers to Palin as Dick Cheney with lipstick (http://www.huffingtonpost.com/arianna-huffington/the-palin-doctrine-why-th_b_126511.html)!

So, you can get an idea about my perspective on Loyalty over Logic from my previous blog (http://jewelscharmedlife.blogspot.com/2008/02/logic-vs-loyalty.html); but secrecy & deception on top of misplaced loyalty add insult to injury. I trust that undecided voters won’t be taken in by this Sarah Palin Red Herring. If we can focus on issues, the choice is clear: Trickle-down economics + pre-emptive invasions vs. Bottom-up, grassroots reform + diplomacy. We see what havoc the former has wreaked over the last 8 years. Might be time to try a little something new, wouldn’t you say?
Leave a Reply

