My Dream Team, My Sister(s), Myself

Can I just say that I am absolutely crazy proud of my girl Lisa Borders, Awesome Atlanta City Council President, Consummate Consultant to the WNBA ATL’s Launch, Supreme Sis to me & my brothers! Also, I suspect my parents would say Divine Daughter, her son Garry, Magnificent Mother. Ok, so maybe I’m a little biased, but I must say I’m constantly amazed at the sheer volume and exceptional quality of all that she does.

Case in point: Lisa’s consultancy, LMB Group, has been working on ensuring the success of ATL’s recently acquired WNBA franchise. This work seems to me like running a NASCAR team, the pace so frenetic, the tasks often parallel those tumultuous tire changes in the pit. Wednesday was the big announcement of the team’s name, logo & colors. As if preparing for & orchestrating such a major event wasn’t enough, she managed to remember to bring me and my brother Eric some gumbo she’d made herself, AND remind me about checking on our dad after his regular dialysis session at a center in Midtown. Whew, just thinking about it makes me weary! And what’s more, she even called later to thank me for showing up to support her, even though I trust she knows there’s no way I was gonna miss this special moment in her challenging yet also charmed life.

But then again, isn’t this like most every hardworking woman’s life? With hats regal to regular, all at the same time, mostly with style, substance, grace and gratitude? I applaud my big sis and all women who unceasingly do what it takes to make the world go ‘round. Now I ask you, when was the last time you patted a hardworking woman, including but not limited to yourself, on the back? Ok, here’s a gentle reminder, do it now! And Lisa, all you other women & me, do know that I LOVE YOU!

Leave a Reply

