What is 2008?

I am ALL that I create in ’08. All that I create in ’08 is great. I am great (& GRATEful) in ’08. Dr. Michael Lomax, now CEO of UNCF (www.uncf.org) taught me all about the syllogism when I was a Freshman at Spelman College in 1979. This form of logic uses 2 related positions to support a particular conclusion, the point being, if you agree w/the 1st two, the final statement can’t be disputed. So this syllogism frames my way of being for this 2008 New Year.

I prefer this approach to making a New Year’s Resolution. These often seem limiting, more like obligations (what I should do) than commitments (what I’m willing to do to pursue my passions), and quite frankly they just haven’t stuck! Anyway this syllogistic affirmation serves as a guiding principle for what I am becoming & accomplishing in this fantastic year of opulent opportunities.

I know that barriers may show up; conquering them will make the victories all the more sweet…remember My Favorite Things from the Sound of Music? Well, Jewels’ version goes something like this:

Mist in the morning and fresh scents awakening,
Incense & gardens & calm bath for taking,
Brown silky skin sheaths on Nubian Kings,
These are a few of my favorite things.

Rich, bright red ipods and itunes for listening,
Shea butter, nut oil and your visage glistening,
Bobbles and bells with a platinum ring,
These are a few of my favorite things.

Men in tuxedos with teeth brightly flashing,
Children on playgrounds with energy dashing,
Fun instant messages with you I ping,
These are a few of my favorite things.

When the job bites,
When the tea stings,
When I’m feeling mad,
I simply remember my favorite things,
And then I do feel so glad!

PEACE!

Leave a Reply

